Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29550

Law 11 - Offside 7/23/2015

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29545

I have a question about something Referee Joe McHugh said. He said it wouldn't matter whether the defender's play was deliberate or not. It would seem to me that if the first defender's play was either a deliberate save or a deflection, then a deflection off the 2nd defender wouldn't reset offside. So the attacker would be offside no matter whether it next deflected from a teammate or a defender. On the other hand, if the first defender's attempt to clear the ball was deliberate (& not a save), then there's a reset & it matters who it deflected off next.

So it might matter whether the first defender's play was deliberate, wouldn't it?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
Interesting point. The touch by the 2nd defender would not be a save IMO and then we have to assume that this touch was in fact a play even if it was not deliberate. That was the context in which the answer was given not that it went to the PIOP from the first defender which could be a save.
In reality if a defender sticks out a leg to make a save which he manages to do so, the ball then hits off a team mate which then goes to a PIOP will be very difficult to sell that there was no reset and offside should be called.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Phi,
ah yes the idea that a double deflection or series of deflections or a deflection after a deliberate save is still enforcing the oppositions offside restriction it has merit, it is in theory plausible. I had a keeper tip a ball wide that hit his defender in the back another defender took a desperate swipe and bounced off his knee towards their goal line being followed by an offside attacker who failed to touch it before it crossed the goal line so I awarded a corner kick but I did think about if I would have allowed play to continue if he had touched it.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29550
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.