Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29577

Law 16 - Goal Kick 8/2/2015

RE: Competative Adult

Russell of Harlow, Essex United Kingdom asks...

At a goal kick does the ball need to be stationary or can it be kicked when rolling

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Russell,
The ball must be stationary .
I watched a keeper in the EPL kick it while rolling, the opponent scored on the miskick but the referee had it retaken citing this vey fact sigh.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
The ball has to be stationary. Is it enforced ever single time? If the referee deems that the ball was *almost* at rest then he has can deem the matter as trifling and allow play to continue. It is only ever an issue when a team is caught out by a quick goal kick and it wants the referee to stop play so as to reorganise or where the ball is saying bouncing with a clear benefit to that. If the referee does not see movement of the ball then play continues.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Like any free kick the ball needs to be stationary. If the ball is rolling, the kick needs to be retaken.

Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Unlike other restarts, Law 16 doesn't specifically state that the ball must be stationary. But it is certainly implied. The law says that the goal kick is taken from a point in the goal area, which suggests it should be stopped at one single place, not rolling.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29577
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29579

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.