Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29591

Law 16 - Goal Kick 8/8/2015

RE: Adult

gary brunen of Manchester, United Kingdom asks...

If the ball has gone out for a goal kick so it's a dead ball goal kick taken from the 6 yard line, if he is lucky enough to be able to kick it that far whether wind assisted bounced or just bad keeping by the other keeper, is that still a goal. It's not the same as kicking from his hands as the ball is still in play, and it goes in without the keeper or any other player getting a touch on it which would be the case with a throw in that does need to be touched by someone and can't be scored direct from the throw.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Gary
This question is asked from time to time most recently # 29574
Law 15 tells us that a goal can be scored directly from a goal kick. An own goal cannot be scored though.
For those interested in the history of the Law, up until the great rewrite of 1997 a goal could not be scored directly from a goal kick or a kick off. That though was all changed in 1997 and it is now possible. I have seen kick off goals being scored. As yet none from a goal kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Gary,
scoring directly from a goal kick is remotely possible, heck, it is even possible to throw the ball into the other goal if the keeper was strong enough or wind assisted. As you noted you could kick it in on a punt out but cannot directly do so on a throw in nor can you directly score on your self nor of course from any INDFK.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29591
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.