Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29594

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/10/2015

RE: Select Under 18

Liker of Stuttgart, Germany asks...

If a goalkeeper picks up a pass from an allied player in the 5 yard box, is it a penalty or indirect free kick from 5 yards out? And where does the wall stand if its indirect, behind the goal line?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
If the ball has been deliberately kicked by a team mate to his own goalkeeper the ball may not be handled by the goalkeeper. Should he do so it is an indirect free kick from the location where the goalkeeper used his hands. It cannot be a penalty kick nor can the goalkeeper be cautioned or sent off for this offence.
If the offence happens inside the goal area the IDFK is taken from the 6 yard line directly opposite from where the offence took place. The opponents must be ten yards from the ball to the side or rear or stand on the goal line between the goal posts.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Liker,
You are referring to the 6 yard goal area which is located inside the 18 yard penalty area!
It is not illegal to pass the ball to the keeper!
Was the ball deliberatively kicked by a team mate to his keeper?
Was the ball throw in directly by a teammate to the keeper?

An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his
own penalty area, commits the following offences:
touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him
by a team-mate
touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a
throw-in taken by a team-mate


If the referee ...correctly... identifies the deliberate kick or throw-in by the team mate was to his keeper, not a chance occurrence, but more of a tactical one, the keeper by definition within the LOTG is NOT permitted the use his hands at all. If the keeper exited his area to retrieve the ball i.e. Dribble it back and bring it inside his PA

If the ball was deemed a deliberate kick or a direct throw in by a team mate the restriction remains in place

If that restriction is in play, the keeper is still fine to play the ball with his feet or body, just NOT his hands.

If he chooses to or accidently uses his hands in the restricted circumstances , the infraction is an INDFK restart from where he does so, within his own penalty area . Outside his 18 yard penalty area, it is of course much more serious, a DFK with cards a definite possibility. It is important to remember that a keeper when inside his OWN penalty area can not be found guilty of DOGSO by the illegal use of his hands on the ball, the restart remains an INDFK restart only.


This determination is crucial If the ball was to be last touched by an opponent, deflect off the team mate's foot or be redirected off the teammate's foot when legally challenging an opponent for the ball, or if that ball was to be passed with any other legal body part then going off in the direction of the keeper, he is ....NOT restricted.... from picking up that ball as long as he is inside his own penalty area when he does..


There is a section in LAW 13, what we refer to as the SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES WITHIN THE GOAL AREA where by no ATTACKING INDFK restart or no DROP BALL restart LAW 8 can occur closer to the actual goal itself, than 6 yards.

an indirect free kick awarded inside the goal area must be taken on the goal area line parallel to the goal line at the point nearest to where the infringement occurred

Now if this occurs or even if the INDFK restart is closer to the goal then ten yards the defenders have an override of the standard respect the ten yard distance
all opponents must be at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the ball until it is in play, unless they are on their own goal line between the goalposts

Mind you UNLESS they are on that goal line all the defenders must be at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the ball until it is in play.

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If this call is made inside the goal area, the kick is taken at the top of the goal area nearest to where the foul occurred. In other words you move the ball straight upward to the goal area line. The defense must be 10 Yds or on the goal line between the posts.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29594
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.