Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29629

Law 11 - Offside 8/24/2015

RE: Professional

Romeo of Toronto, ON Canada asks...

In this video, a defender and Attacker A tumble off the field of play. Both remain off the pitch when ball is played by Attacker B. Keeper (2nd last opponent) has foot inches from the goal line. However, his hand is on the post.

Is keeper's foot or hand (since keeper is allowed to play ball with hand) considered in this situation?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Romeo, nice spot!
admittedly I believed the returning player was marginally offside and as such that PK is a nice gift instead of the INDFK that could have occurred. Yet as a playable body part the keeper was in contact with the goal line as the post is part of that goal line. Yet offside specifically discounts the arms hands as used for positioning. As my colleague points out likely difficult to spot in real time but definitely offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Romeo
The advice on Law 11 tells us that the arms are not included in the offside calculation and the goalkeeper is not differentiated from other players in that. So in this case it would have been the goalkeepers right foot that was the offside line. That placed the returning player marginally offside probably by some 4/6 inches. It would have been an extremely difficult spot for an assistant referee with the goalkeeper stood next to the post with his hand on it and his foot next to the post. The small margin, at speed, would have been difficult to detect as would have been the exact moment of the touch by the team mate.
You will also note that offside was not queried by anyone nor was the penalty call.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29629
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29632

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.