Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29634

Mechanics 8/26/2015

RE: Rec / Select Under 15

Brad of Plymouth, MI USA asks...

I am curious about a general question, and then in answering two specific scenarios around it.

In a general sense, the question: 'Is it allowable to simultaneously book a player or substitute for two distinct cautions, thus resulting in an 'immediate' expulsion'.

Scenario #1: End of game, with Black up by one goal and White pressing aggressively to tie (GK up for a corner, for instance). Black intercepts and is streaking uncontested down the team-side touchline when a White substitute enters the field of play and fouls Black player to avoid a near-certain goal. Certainly for a player, this would merit a DOGSO-F, but this is not available for a substitute. But could this instead be a first caution for entering field of play without permission, followed by a subsequent caution for USB, thus resulting in expulsion for White substitute? (Of course, White still keeps 11 on field of play).

Scenario #2: White defender recklessly pushes Black forward just as he passes ball to nearby teammate. Advantage is applied, but same White defender then recklessly fouls second Black player. (But neither of these fouls meets DOGSO-F standard).

In both cases, play was not stopped at the first offense. Is it within the LOTG to issue simultaneous dual cautions for either of these scenarios? (Note that neither of these happened in my experience).

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Brad
What you describe are not simultaneous offences. In scenario #1 the substitute has committed an unsporting behaviour offence by entering the field of play. Now he has then committed a second offence of unsporting behaviour by committing a tactical foul. As one happen after each other the referee issues two cautions followed by a dismissal and a red card.
The same applies to scenario#2. The White defender has committed two cautionable offences one after another and that results in a dismissal and a red card.
So players or substitutes can be dismissed for two cautions close to each other in the examples you described.
It is difficult to find simultaneous foul committed by the same player for which the more serious offence is punished. An example would be a double touch by a player where the second touch is deliberate handling.
The referee there will punish the more serious offence of deliberate handling rather than the second touch. That is simultaneous.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Brad,
If a substitute illegally enters the FOP and then acts in a violent or reckless manner that substitute is going to be sent off for at minimum, a double caution! USB of entering the FOP and the act of blatant misconduct of a physical intervention could be considered as violent conduct or at the minimum as another, 2nd act of USB. If the VC was present, a straight red would be shown and the other cautionable action noted in match report. IF there were two separate acts of USB, then the yellow card is shown twice ! (1) USB illegally entering the FOP (2)USB for a reckless/tactical or USB action against the opponent. Then the red card and off he goes! You are correct, the team does not play short as a substitute is not a player


Same situation for your 2nd scenario, not simultaneous fouls just two separate, close together. If there is an indfk offence i.e. 2nd touch that is superseded by a DFK offence i.e. handles the ball deliberately, you punish the more severe offence.

If he fouls, you could apply advantage, then if he fouls again, while you MIGHT apply advantage, if the ball was about to cross the goal line for a score in the opposing team's favour, otherwise stop play, show the two yellow cards, one after the other, point to the spot of each, then show the red card, send him off, reducing his team a player and restart with the free kick or kick off if the goal scored!

I do recall a few unusual sets of fouls where a player running in between two opposing players grabbed both over their shoulders to try and sling shot himself through. A double holding foul, only awarded one free kick though. lol Then there was a player who decided to shove an opposing player who fell into the back of another opposing player and both were on the ground . One foul but got a twofer I sent him off with a direct red though.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29634
Read other Q & A regarding Mechanics

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29637

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.