Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29652

Law 16 - Goal Kick 9/1/2015

RE: Select Under 13

K Hinze of Columbus, OH United States asks...

I understand the that you cannot be offside on a goal kick if you are an attacker on team A and your own team is taking the goal kick. My question on this Scenario: Team B goalkeeper is taking a goal kick and team A player lines up just outside the penalty area but in front of the second player last player from team A. Team B GK takes goal kick, it exits penalty area and Team A player plays ball. Is Player A offside when he is behind second to last defender on other team's goal kick?
Is the rule that you cannot be offside regardless of team taking goal kick?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi K ,
you got it right at the end. Both teams are EXEMPT from offside criteria.
The ball is in play once it clears the PA. Either team can play that ball. First team to do so, it becomes a NEW offside phase of first touch of the ball of a team mate. Once the ball is past the 2nd last opponent closer to the goal line remember the ball itself is an offside line.


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Offside is a team concept so a player cannot be offside ever from a ball deliberately played by an opponent.
In your scenario as team player A is in an offside position that only matters if the ball is played by a team mate when offside applies. As the ball is ball is played by Team B offside does not apply.
Tactically it is not a great position as it relies on a mistake by Team B. If a team mate of the PIOP gains possession of the ball that player is excluded from play until placed in an onside position

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa


The player would not be guilty of an offside infraction. In order to be guilty of an offside infraction, the player must:

1) Be nearer to the goal than the second to last defender or the ball (whichever is closer).

2)The ball must be last touched by a teammate. If the defender makes a deliberate play, then the player CAN NOT be offside

So in your scenario, the Team A player can not be offside since the ball was last played by a defender AND since the ball was nearer to the goal than the Team A player when it was last kicked.

Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29652
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.