Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29662

Law 16 - Goal Kick 9/4/2015

RE: Select Under 14

Tom of Dana Point, CA US asks...

I understand that the ball is not in play on a goal kick unless and until it clears the penalty area, so that if an attacker or defender touches it inside the PA, the goal kick is retaken. What about the scenario when the player who took the kick is the one to touch the ball that hasn't cleared the PA? Still a re-kick or is it an IDFK? I am thinking of a scenario where a young girl (the keeper) mis-hit the goal kick and it just moved a few yards. She went to retrieve it to re-kick. The opposing coach was yelling for an IDFK.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Tom
It is still a retake as the ball is not in play until the ball exits the penalty area. The double touch infraction only applies when the ball is in play.

As regards your scenario the correct decision was a retake as the ball was never in play. The coach needs to learn the Laws plus it is not a good example for young players of good sporting behaviour.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Tom,
just to clarify ANY defending free kick indfk, dfk or goal kick coming out of the PA must CLEAR the penalty area to be in play. This double touch would be a retake and as it is likely just an accident that is all that is required. As for the yelling coach they do so enjoy the sound of their own voices do they not? lol

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29662
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29787

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.