Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29667

Law 14 - Penalty kick 9/6/2015

RE: Rec / Select Under 15

Brad of Plymouth, MI USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29655

Convoluted physics aside, isn't a penalty kick a special form of a DFK? Therefore the LOTG are clear that one could not score against one's own team on a PK. Thoughts?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Brad
Law 14 as you know covers the penalty kick. We know that the ball must be kicked forward to be in play and it is not specifically stated that an own goal cannot be scored unlike Law 13 that tells us that specifically.
Anyway physics tells us that it is not going to happen so something not to be concerned about. As I said previously the general approach of not being able to score on oneself from a restart is principled in the Laws so know reason why it should not apply to every restart even if it is not written down.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

As a penalty kick is actually covered by a completely different law to other forms of free kicks, one could not consider it a type of direct free kick. Were that the case, Penalty Kicks would fall under a subsection of Law 13 - free kicks.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Brad,
thoughts? hmmm nope, nothing going on upstairs, too far fetched to worry about, but if I had to choose corner kick, works for me!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29667
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.