Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29685

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/11/2015

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29682

I'm confused about something that Referee Dawson said. Suppose the GK threw the bottle & it knocked the ball, which was headed into the goal, away from the goal.

Wouldn't the GK still be guilty of DOGSO, get a red card, & the opposition given a PK? While the bottle is an extension of the Gk's hands, it's not a legal extension. And it doesn't come within any of the 4 INDFK infractions.

Wouldn't it be similar if one of the defender's kicked the bottle & it hit the ball, preventing it from going into the goal? The bottle would be an extension of the defender's foot...but not a legal action, & I would think that would still be a red card & a PK, wouldn't it?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
One of the quirks of IFAB introducing the deliberate kick to the goalkeeper law was that the advice given was that the goalkeeper inside his own penalty area cannot be guilty of a handling offence incurring a direct free kick or any misconduct related to handling the ball. The goalkeeper that say stops a deliberate kick to him entering the goal through the use of a hand cannot be cautioned or sent off. It is an IDFK offence only.
So technically the goalkeeper has stopped the ball with his hand and is guilty of unsporting behaviour only through the use of the bottle which is a caution. The restart is an IDFK.
In respect of the kick of the water bottle to stop the ball that would be indeed illegal and as the action has denied an obvious goal the defender is dismissed. The restart is an IDFK.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Throwing something at the ball is handling. FIFA has indicated that a keeper may not be sent off for denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity if they handle the ball inside their own penalty area. So, no red card is possible in this situation, or where the keeper handles a ball thrown-in or directly kicked by a teammate to keep it from entering the goal even though the keeper has committed an offense punishable by an indirect free kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Phil,
inside his OWN Penalty Area no DOGSO via handling but if the handling occurs OUTSIDE his area the possibility of DOGSO exists, same as a player.
The kicking action is still an INDFK but either keeper or player COULD be sent off for denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity by way of a foul or misconduct resulting in a free kick

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29685
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.