Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29687

Law 16 - Goal Kick 9/11/2015

RE: Select Under 15

Edward Abraham of Agawam, Massachusetts United States asks...

While a defensive player was taking a Goal Kick, he touched the ball a second time prior to it leaving the penalty area (double touch). He basically was trying to dribble it out of the box. I stopped the play and requested a 'Re-Kick' noting that the ball had not left the penalty area prior to a second touch - even though it was his own. I contemplated an indirect to the attacking team where the second touch occurred, but felt that the ball was not 'truly' in play since it had not left the area therefore I requested a re-kick.
Your thoughts?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Edward,
well done, you were correct the ball is NOT YET in play . This is true on ...ANY... defending free kick that originates within their own PA, not just goal kicks. The ball must completely clear the PA boundary lines to be in play!
Just a consideration!
The 2nd touch occurred because it was not hard enough or was it to prevent an opponent outside from getting a great chance? The reasoning MIGHT factor into a delaying the restart and whether a caution is warranted. Usually though at youth levels simply a rekick and get on with it!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Edward
You were indeed correct. As the ball has not left the penalty area it is not in play so no technical offence can occur. The only possible restart is a retake.
Now one would think that an U 15 player should know that he cannot play any restart to himself including a goal kick? Had the 2nd kick happened after the ball left the penalty area it would have been a double touch infringement

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29687
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29691

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.