Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29688

Law 11 - Offside 9/12/2015

RE: Select Under 16

Mr.taylor of Manchester, Lancashire England asks...

If 2 players are attacking, one onside who received ball, the other not onside, the onside attacker then shoots, it's saved by goalie and knocked in by the other attacker, is he offside?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Mr. Taylor,
As long as the offside player was not interfering with the opposition once the onside attacker has the ball each subsequent touch of the ball is a new point to determine (a) offside position and (2) if there is offside position is there INVOLVEMENT? For example if the teammate was offside and was blocking the line of sight of the keeper when the onside player shoots. That is an indfk out for offside as he has interfered with an opponent.

The exact moment the shot occurs is the last touch of the ball by the attacker his other team mate is then looked at for POSITON, is he offside> If the team mate was farther away than the ball or the 2nd last opponent from the opposing goal line at that critical moment he will be determined as onside and can play the rebound off the keeper. If he is not , if he was closer, then he is judged as an ORP (offside restricted player) or PIOP (player in offside position) This means he CAN NOT BE INVOLVED in play until that restriction is lifted.

The laws of the game do say if an opponent deliberately plays the ball it will lift the restriction, HOWEVER, a deliberate SAVE is exempt from that condition so the rebound off a save is counted as a deflection and if the team mate was offside at the time of the 1st shot, he remains restricted and an INDFK out for offside, no goal on the rebound. He will be considered to have gained an advantage. If he was onside at the time of the 1st shot, we have a good goal, because, he is not restricted.


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

It depends on whether the player who scored was in offside position at the moment the teammate took the shot.

A1 has the ball. A2 is onside and A3 is in offside position. A1 passes ball to A2. There is no offense because A3 has not interfered with play or interfered with an opponent.

A2 then takes a shot. If A3 is still in offside position at the time of the shot, he may NOT play the ball when he receives it from a deliberate save by the keeper. He would be offside for gaining an advantage from an offside position. However, assuming that A3 is onside at the time of the shot, he is eligible to play the ball and score.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

The answer lies in the position of the attacker that scored at the moment of the shot was taken by the onside team mate. If the scorer was onside either level or behind the ball or he had two opponents between himself and the goal line at the moment of the shot then the goal is good. If he was in an offside position the offside is not reset by the save by the goalkeeper and offside will be called for gaining an advantage by being in that position.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29688
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.