Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29689

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/12/2015

RE: Amateuar Adult

Xiao Hwa of Yangon, Yangon Myanmar asks...

A team mate kicks the ball intentionally back towards goal keeper, just to distract from danger. The keeper first receives the ball with his feet. As the danger comes nearer, the keeper has to pick the ball up with his hands. Will this be subject to an indirect free kick?

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Yes. The keeper may not handle a ball that was deliberately kicked by a teammate. The keeper's dribbling of the ball does not change the decision. (Conversely, if the ball was kicked by an opponent, the keeper MAY dribble the ball into the penalty area and then pick it up.)



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Xiao
The referee will award the indirect free kick here from where the goalkeeper touches the ball with his hand. It makes no difference that the ball was first controlled and played by the foot.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Xiao Hwa,
If the ball was deliberately kicked by a team mate to his keeper then the keeper CAN NOT use his hands unless the ball was touched by an opponent or had deflected off one of his own players after!. It is indeed an INDFK out subject to the special circumstances within the goal area should he decide to use his hands inside the PA!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29689
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.