Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29690

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 9/12/2015

RE: rec Under 15

Paul of Newbury Park, CA USA asks...

The Red team throws the ball in and it rolls along the touch line for ten feet and rolls out completely off the field not touching the line. The AR standing next to the ball signals for a throw in for Black as the ball was deemed in and then out.
What is the correct call?
What do you think?

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

That is correct call! Black team ball PROVIDED the ball did not hit ground off field prior to rolling on the touchline. The ball is deemed to be on the field if it crosses the place of the line at all. Based on your description of the ball rolling 'along the touch line' it did that.

Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Paul,
think of the touchlines as a 5 inch wall of water extending straight up into the sky, if ....ANY... part of the ball can get wet, then the ball was IN play, if even for a split second! On the throw in by red, if in the opinion of the CR/AR it entered the FOP, thus last touched by them, then exited the FOP, last touched by them!
Solution? BLACK takes the throw in from where the ball COMPLETELY left the FOP. IF, the throw in was taken correctly, but never entered the FOP, under FIFA LOTG, it can be retaken! It sounds as if the ball was thrown along the line, hit just barely on the line, then rolled out. I believe in USA High school rules, the throw in goes to the other team! Remember the curve of the ball can be overtop the line without touching it! Also note if the throw in is incorrectly taken, it is awarded to the opposing team!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Paul
The answer lies in whether any part of the ball touched any part of the line of plane. If that happened then the ball was in play. If the ball touched the ground outside the line before touching the plane then it is a retake.

In the example it reads like the ball rolled along the line which puts it in play and thorn rolled out of play last touched by the Red thrower. Restart is a throw in to Black.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29690
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.