Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29691

Law 16 - Goal Kick 9/13/2015

RE: Youth to adult, comp and rec.

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29687

Richard Dawson said, '...The 2nd touch occurred because it was not hard enough or was it to prevent an opponent outside from getting a great chance? The reasoning MIGHT factor into a delaying the restart and whether a caution is warranted.'

I was previously under the understanding that the ball was not in play until it was totally out of the area -- so a card would not be warranted, unless a keeper/defender were making a travesty of the game with goal kick silliness.

Example of what I thought was allowable: a keeper makes a weak kick that will arrive outside the area just as an attacker arrives. The keeper, or a defender, sprints to touch the ball before it leaves the area, to take away the opportunity. Note: the ball is not 'in play' yet, so it is different than a poor free kick in any other situation.

I'm thinking if a defender dove on the ball, using the hands and covered it like a live grenade, a ref could be pulling out a yellow card; similarly, if it were seen as time-wasting, by spoiling a goal kick 2 or 3x in a row, late in the game.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Barry
Yes the ball has to leave the penalty area to be in play. When that does not happen the referee can still caution a player for misconduct such as delaying the restart. Simply double touching the ball inside the penalty area would not normally be a caution and that is not what is suggested. There has to be *something* more and the more can be time wasting, larking about etc.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Barry, my colleague REF McHugh is correct the 'SOMETHING MORE' the caution is a long odds maybe likely NOT a necessity or even under consideration . I have had the occasional defender deliberately play a weakly or poorly kicked ball before it cleared the PA to PREVENT the lurking attacker from having a scoring opportunity. as a tactical necessity or as you pointed out the silliness of running to one side of the goal area pretend to put the ball down run to the other side try to kick it miskick it then retouch because it was going to a waiting attacker!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29691
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.