Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29793

Law 11 - Offside 10/8/2015

RE: High School Game Adult

Dan Corp of Livonia, MI USA asks...

The offense has a corner kick. The kick is taken and the ball bounces around and ends up at the 18 in front of the net. The defense moves up leaving an offensive player 3 yards out and by the corner of the net in the offside position. Goalie in the middle of net. An offensive player at the 18 kicks the ball toward the corner where the offside player is. As the ball is going toward the corner of the net the offside player tries to kick it on but completely misses the ball and the ball goes in the net. The goalie had no chance to make the play as he was too far from the corner to get to the ball in time. Offensive team wants the goal to count as the offside player did not touch the ball and did not interfer with the goalie. The defensive team wants the goal disallowed as the as attempt by the offside player tried to make a play on the ball. Goal or no goal?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Dan,
The PIOP although NEAR had no impact on play that prevented an opponent from challenging or blocking the line of sight
The PIOP had no impact on play in he did not touch the ball.
Good goal!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

There are three elements to be offside by interfering with an opponent while making a challenge for the ball: (a) near the ball; (b) attempting to play the ball; and (c) this action impacts on an

The third element is missing in your scenario. Score the goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Dan
Under last years Offside guidance it was certainly not offside as the player did not interfere with play as he did not touch the ball nor did he interfere with an opponent as he did not challenge an opponent nor obstruct the opponents line of sight
Those guideline were amended on the 17th July 2015 which now states that a player in an offside position shall also be penalised if he:
# clearly attempts to play a ball which is close to him when this action IMPACTS on an opponent or
# makes an obvious action which clearly impacts on the ability of an opponent to play the ball.
So in your scenario we have to ask whether the player in an offside position in his attempt to play the ball IMPACTED on an opponent. From what is described that did not happen so the goal is the correct decision.
Had the goalkeeper dived to make a save on the basis of the *attempt* by the PIOP then that has impacted and offside is called.
Have a look at this video as an example
Red 10 in an offside position clearly impacts on the goalkeeper and the ball goes to an onside player Red 9 who scores. This should have been called offside due to the actions of Red 10. Under 2014 guidelines it was not offside. Obviously the AR had not moved on or got focussed on the onside players.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29793
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29796

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.