Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29800

Law 16 - Goal Kick 10/10/2015

RE: Select Under 13

Greg Perez of Park Ridge, New Jersey United States of America asks...

If a penalty kick rebounds off of the goalie, can the player who kicked the penalty kick be the first one to touch the ball?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Greg,
if it is a PK during regular match play YES! Although technically he is now the 2nd player. The ball is alive and even an accidental touch or deflection off the keeper eliminates the pk kicker's 2nd touch restriction

If the PK was an EXTENDED PK or if it was KFTPM to decide an outcome then NO, only the keeper can play the ball. All others are forbidden!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Absolutely not - because the goalkeeper already was the first player to touch the ball after the penalty kick. (I know, ha ha, kind of like making someone say May I instead of Can I)

Law 14 says that the player taking the penalty kick cannot touch it again until it is touched by another player. The goalkeeper is a player. The goal is not, so if the ball hits only the goal and bounces back to the kicker, then she's not allowed to play it again. But if the keeper has touched it, then it has touched another player, and the kicker is free to make another try at it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Greg
The restriction of the kicker not touching the ball for a second time on a penalty kick only applies if it comes back off the frame of the goal. In that instance it has not touched another player. When it rebounds off the goalkeeper the kicker can play the ball again.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29800
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.