Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29802

Law 15 - Throw In 10/10/2015

John of Temple City, Ca USA asks...

I know you cannot score directly from a throw in, but what is the call if on the throw in, it goes into the goal, but the keeper touches it prior to it going in?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi John,
its called a GOAL!
No matter if the throw in is at the opposition goal or your own. The LOTG only dictate the ball can not enter the goal directly. On your own goal even though the LOTG do not permit your keeper to use their hands on a throw in from a team mate. If the keeper does attempt to stop the ball with the hands but fails to keep it out, you apply advantage and award the goal to the opposition.

It is difficult for inexperienced keepers to simply let the ball enter their goal, knowing they get the goal kick, if the opposition takes the throw in. Same for an INDFK. A kick or throw in directly into opponents goal, its a goal kick! Kick or throw in directly into your own goal, it's a corner kick. If the keeper gets a touch at either it becomes a goal for the other guys.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi John
Once touched by the goalkeeper it is no longer DIRECTLY and the goal is good.
If the goalkeeper touches the ball on his own teams throw in and it enters the goal the referee will play advantage and award the goal. If he stops the ball on the throw in then the restart is an IDFK on the 6 yard line if the touch happened inside the goal area otherwise it is from where the goalkeeper used his hands. If it is an attacking throw in it is a goal kick if it enters the goal directly without touching anyone.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29802
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.