Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29803

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/11/2015

RE: competitive High School

Dean Astumian of Orono, ME USA asks...

The referee whistles to start a pk, the player approaches the ball, stops, starts again and as he strikes the ball the referee (incorrectly) whistles the play dead. The kick is saved. What is the correct restart.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Dean
The only possible restart is a retake of the penalty kick as the referee whistle the play dead before the kick was taken or as the ball travelled forward.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone


The correct restart is a re-kick. Actually, even if there had not been a whistle prior to the save, a whistle should have followed the save and a re-kick should have been given. In high school rules, if the ball is not kicked properly, it must be re-kicked. Thus, the referee made a proper call.

Here is the rule that covers an improperly kicked penalty kick:

Rule: 14-1-4: The ball shall be kicked while it is stationary on the ground from the spot or any place on the penalty mark. To be in play, the ball shall be moved forward. Once the kicker starts his/her approach to the ball, he/she may not interrupt his/her movement. Failure to kick the ball as specified shall result in a re-kick.

I hope that your team has a very successful season.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29803
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29808

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.