Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29808

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/12/2015

RE: competitive High School

Dean Astumian of Orono, ME USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29803

What happens if the kicker hesitates AND and attacking player encroaches before the kick is taken, and the kick goes through to completion without a whistle, but the referee observe BOTH infractions.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Dean
It depends on the outcome of the kick. If the penalty kick is scored the kick is retaken. If the penalty kick is missed the restart is a goal kick if it goes wide or if saved and caught by the goalkeeper play continues. If the ball rebounds back into play or rebounds off the goalkeeper and goes wide the restart is an indirect free kick from where the infraction took place.
In other words the attacking team cannot benefit from the infractions.

In a FIFA / USSF game the kick is retaken if the kick is scored and an IDFK if not scored. The referee may chose to ignore the offences if not scored and the attacking team does not benefit or he can also play advantage if the GK gains clear possession of the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Dean,
As long as the PK was signalled to begin, the attackers are the only ones who act improperly, if the PK scores it is retaken, if it misses, it is an INDFK out from the point of the encroachment as it is more advantageous than the PK spot.
Cheers

















Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29808
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.