Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29812

Law 3 - Number of Players 10/12/2015

RE: Rec Under 11

David of Royal Palm Beach, FL USA asks...

A team with 12 players on the field scores a goal. Before play is restarted the ref realizes this. The goal is not allowed and the extra player is cautioned and leaves the field. What is the restart? This was just a discussion among a group of refs.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi David,
the restart is an INDFK from inside the goal area!
The team that infringes the LOTG can not score, nor can they receive any benefit of a restart!
The extra player is cautioned and removed
The ball is OUT of play having crossed the goal line. So it was inside the goal area as the last place on the field prior to discovering the illegal player. I am sure your discussion was centered around if it COULD be a goal kick having exited the field of play last touched by an opponent. The goal kick has no offside allowance and might be thought of as a more advantageous restart, but think on the fact it could be an own goal or it was a deflection in off a defender which surmises a corner kick instead. Note LAW 5 allows you to punish the infraction even if you find about it later, i.e. (after the goal) provided no restart has occurred!
The restart is based on illegally entering the field of play without permission! Even if occurred accidentally by an inattentive referee crew during multiple substitutions.
INDFK out anywhere within the goal area. Referee remember to keep the hand up.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi David
The Law is somewhat mute on the point. The best decision is an IDFK in the goal area and that was stated in the former Q&As which were replaced in 2006.
Some have suggested a goal kick yet that does not fit every single scenario. Im also of the opinion that if a player infringes the Laws on the field of play while the ball is in play that it is a free kick restart. After cautioning a player and disallowing a goal a free kick would be expected. It however will only be obvious to the knowledgeable as apart from the no offside applying and no raised hand by the referee it will look the same

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29812
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - Number of Players

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.