Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29830

Law 4 - Players Equipment 10/19/2015

RE: Athena B (Competitive Girls) Under 17

Ryan Cobelli of Kennesaw, GA USA asks...

A player enters the field as a substitute but no officials are near the half field line so we didn't have the best look at equipment (even though we checked equipment before the game). The player's team goes on a promising attack but before the player becomes involved in active play, I yelled at her to get her shin guards and she immediately starts back towards the bench, avoiding active play. The other team kept playing, but her team scored off the attack. Should the goal have stood?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Ryan,
YES! allowing her permission to leave the field of play to correct her equipment without stopping play if fine as long as you remember she cannot come back in until you check her equipment at the next stoppage. The goal is good. Check her before the kick off starts if she is ready, let her back on!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ryan
Yes the goal is good. Play does not have to be stopped here and the player is requested to leave the field of play to correct the equipment which was done. Had the player refused or got involved in active play then play may need to be stopped. The refusal could be seen as USB perhaps or playing the ball would be playing in a dangerous manner. As the referee crew contributed to the situation the best decision can be to get it sorted without stopping or if play has to be stopped then an IDFK for PIADM. It is akin to a player loosing a shoe. Only an issue if she gets involved in play without it. Before she re enters the field of play the equipment is checked which has to be done at a stoppage in play perhaps in this case before the kick off.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Ryan,

There's no obligation to stop play immediately for a Law 4 (equipment) violation when the player isn't involved in play. If she doesn't have the equipment corrected before the next stoppage she must then leave the field of play.

Unless it's a game with unlimited subsitutions / rolling substitutions, the referee should always attend the substitution at halfway though.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29830
Read other Q & A regarding Law 4 - Players Equipment

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.