Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29846

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/22/2015

Brian of Brooklyn, NY USA asks...

Ref awards penalty.Before whistle is blown to take the penalty,the penalty taker shoots,ball hits post and comes back into play.
Is the correct restart a retake of the penalty or an INDFK for the defending side from the penalty spot?


Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Brian
if the whistle is not blown then there WAS no PK . What you have is an inattentive referee and possibly a player about to be cautioned for delaying the restart. It is a retake according to the LOTG.
The referee is lax in his duties here not to have impressed on the PK kicker 'WE WAIT for the whistle!' before he hands the ball off to him to set on the spot! I been at it for 40 plus years never had an early PK taker.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Back in the day, the instruction was that the referee had to 'signal' for a penalty kick to be taken. We could argue that the taker must have seen some signal, took the kick, and missed. Too bad.

But now a whistle is required to start play at a PK. No whistle, it's an improper restart and it must be retaken, regardless of the outcome of the kick that was taken early. If the player ignored your clear instruction to 'Wait for the Whistle' then a caution is in order for delaying the (properly taken) restart of play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Brian
The only possible restart is a retake and that would also happen if a goal was scored. Even if the referee had to caution the kicker it is still a retake as there is no possible kick until after the whistle sounds.
So mechanism is important for referees on penalty kicks. Referees should try to ensure that the kick does not happen without a signal. Clearly advise the kicker to wait for the whistle and then the question does not arise. At underage if there was a problem with the goalkeeper positioning the referee could also locate himself perhaps very close to the ball which clearly prevents the kick from happening before the whistle. Once everything is ready a quick move away and whistle sorts it.
Like Referee Dawson I have never had a penalty taken before the whistle. I pay close attention to the kicker and whistle as the kicker backs up.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29846
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.