Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29856

Law 1- The Field 10/26/2015

RE: Rec Adult

Shane MacDonald of luton, Beds Englans asks...

Can you confirm what would happen in the below scenario eg play on/free kick etc.

This scenario happened recently in a 5 a side game.

scenario

-Goalkeeper has Both feet inside area
-Majority of the ball is outside area but is touching the White line
-Goalkeeper reaches outside the area and touches the side of the ball furthest away from him and scoops the ball back inside the area and then picks it up

Thanks
Shane

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Shane,

The Laws aren't concerned with 'parts' of the ball. The fact that the ball is considered inside the PA (by being on the line) effectively means the entire ball is inside the PA. So it doesn't matter if the keeper touches the part that's outside the PA - no offence has been committed.

This goes both ways. If the ball is on the line and a defender handles the part of the ball that's outside the PA, it's a Penalty Kick for a penal foul inside the Penalty Area.

However, I'm referring to the Laws of the Game (and Futsal has identical laws in this particular area). If it's 5 a-side playing with a heavily modified, unofficial version of the rules then it may be different, but I'd be surprised.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Shane
The answer lies in whether ALL of the ball was over ALL of the penalty area line. It makes no difference what part of the ball that the goalkeeper touches.
So in your scenario if the ball was still breaking the plane of the line it is legal for the GK to handle the ball.
In this image taken from goal line technology if the lower part of the line was the inside of the penalty area and the upper part was outside the ball is still deemed to be still inside and there is no handling offence should the GK touch the ball with his hands
http://www.101greatgoals.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/BiywynoCIAAMfhK.jpg
In real time and at speed this is impossible to judge accurately hence the introduction of goal line technology to assist in goal decisions. If there is any doubt the referee should allow play to continue





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29856
Read other Q & A regarding Law 1- The Field

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.