Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29863

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/27/2015

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29855

I'm confused about something that referee Jason Wright said. On a penalty kick in extended time (not KFTPM), is it correct that defenders can participate, but attackers can't.

In other words, suppose the kick hits the cross bar & bounces out with a lot of backspin. Keeper walks away, but another defender sees it could roll in.

1) Is that defender allowed to stop the ball?
2) And if he/she kicks it in the goal, that goal won't count because it didn't go in based on the original force ended?
3) What if the defender stopped the ball with their hands?

Thanks again in advance,

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
When the ball is saved or comes off the frame of the goal and it is still in play the fact that it is kicked by either defenders or attackers is irrelevant as the game has in fact ended at that point. The extreme point that Referee Wright made was to demonstrate no difference between a kick by a defender and a kick by an attacker even if both were to result in the ball crossing the goal line.
In all likelihood the referee will have ended the game before players get the chance to participate in subsequent play and it is important to manage that in a way that causes no issues for the game and the referee.
Now Im not a fan of ending the game in such circumstances. We all know that timing is such that a few seconds can be found and indeed if the referee stops his watch at the award of the penalty kick that play could be allowed to finish out.
Have a look at this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nWSc3-NACSY
The referee restarted the game with a kick off after all that.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Phil,

When time is extended for a PK, it means that the only kick that can influence the result is from the kicker. If the keeper fails to control the ball and it deflects off him and/or the crossbar and/or the goalpost, this is still considered to be moving from the initial kick - but if any player touches it, including a second touch by the kicker, it's over. Otherwise, play is continuing like in normal time.

Therefore, in the unlikely scenario that the ball is trickling over the line, the defender would be perfectly entitled to kick the ball out to stop the goal - but the attacker can't kick it in. Note there's no law preventing players from being around the Penalty Area at this scenario, though removing them can be good proactive refereeing. I just wanted to highlight one potential scenario - although it's a very, very rare scenario.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Extended time is different from added time. In extended time, the kick is over exactly as in KFTPM - when the momentum of the ball has been expended, the match is over.

In the real world, however, the referee can often add time which will permit the taking of the penalty kick and a few seconds more. Extended time occurs only when the referee judges that time has expired, and the match is extended solely to complete the taking of the penalty kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29863
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29865

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.