Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29865

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/28/2015

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29863

Sorry to be so dense, but I want to make sure that I really understand this because it 'sounds' like it could cause all sorts of problems.

You've had links in the past to videos where, during KFTPM, a GK celebrates after a kick bounces off the cross bar, but back spin causes the ball to go in. And that's a goal.

As I understand what you're saying, whether in extended time or KFTPM, an alert defender (or clumsy attacker) could prevent the ball from going in. In fact, a defender could dive & use his hands just to touch the ball & the shot is over. Is that correct?

Also, even though it might be rare, that would mean that an attacker could tackle that defender with excessive force (& get a red card) to save the game.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Phil,
you are not dense, the unimaginable does on occasion occur. When it does you as the referee are left to sort it out.

The difference in KFTPM and a PK taken during the actual game is the location of the players.

Even if a PK occurs late in the half or end of a match the referee has the ability to stop and add time . If he suspended the match until the PK starts and then tags on the extra time to allow 30 seconds or a minute or what ever amount of extra time he thinks appropriate that is not a true EXTENDED PK

A true EXTENDED PK is an announcement that in fact ALL play time has been used up already and only the momentum of the ball is permitted once it is kicked at the goal that will determine the outcome. This means no player can legally interfere. Unfortunately illegal actions of misconduct are a choice at ANY time of a match even after it is over!

The fact is under the LOTG the remaining players although not ABLE to participate because it IS an extended PK! They can still be in the proper position of a PK, 10 yards away outside the PA behind the ball. Once the kick occurs and the momentum of the ball is on its way one or more of these players can still try to interfere. The referee will then be forced to deal with that action because they are legal players NOT outside agents.

The choices will to be to retake the PK if it misses, to retake if a goal is scored, to allow the result or abandon the match and possibly punish for misconduct.

You realize that under ANY set of circumstances be it an outside agent like a fan or a dog or a foolish AR unaware a ball is still live if it is still moving towards the goal should chose to stop that ball or if a player or a substitute or substituted player should chose to do the same YOU as referee must deal with it. My question to you based on your current understanding and knowledge of the LOTG now know how to apply the LOTG to any or all of these possibilities??

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
Context is important. In KFTPM should the kicker touch the ball for a second time the kick is completed. It is not possible for another player to be involved and if he does then the referee has not followed the correct procedure.
Where play has been extended to allow a penalty kick to be taken no subsequent play is allowed. So we have to assume that if the players get to play the ball on a rebound that the penalty kick is competed and the game is over. The referee decides when a penalty kick has been completed.
Now just because the game is over does not allow a player to commit misconduct such as VC and it to go unpunished. The player will still be dismissed and shown the red card.
The astute referee will manage these critical situation extremely carefully. I personally would not end the game in such circumstances. I would allow the natural outcome to reach a conclusion and to find the few seconds to do that. In fact if a goal was scored directly I would go as far as to set up for a kick off and then end it there with players separated and time taken to ensure that all is well with ARs, etc.
In the video I posted Referee Oliver indicated he was playing a minimum of 4 minutes of added time. It could not be 5 minutes yet it could be 4.50. The game ended some 10.30 minutes later. While I have no proof of the referees timing and yes there was an inordinate amount of the play being stopped I believe that he may have *found* the seconds to see the penalty kick play out rather then stopping play say at the rebound of the penalty kick. It is also worth noting that play was allowed to continue after the PK with a goal scored at the other end and he restarted play after that goal with a kick off to ensure all was well. Had he stopped the game on the rebound from the penalty kick he would have had to deal with one almighty row that could have only ended very badly.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Phil,

I stated at the start that it's an unconventional viewpoint, because I've heard plenty of referees instruct players not to become involved.

There is no law actually preventing the players from becoming involved - it's just that, given the kick would be over the moment one of them does become involved, there's no point the attacker getting involved. Becoming involved triggers the end of the half.

But the scenario you suggested, with the ball bouncing out then slowly in? That would ge the perfect scenario for the defender to clear the ball out if the keeper was unaware - and this is completely permissible. Again, the laws to not actually state players must not become involved. So your scenario is actually the best example of why I believe the distinction is quite important.

If, somehow, he knocked the ball in then this would be just like if a defender had followed up and kicked it in - it's another kick/touch, so the PK is over.

Not that this cannot happen in KFTM because the players are not allowed anywhere near the kick.

Asking whether the defender could handle to ball to stop the goal is an interesting one though, and I don't believe the LOTG have a clear answer for that.

My final piece of advice - if it is an 'extended time KFTM', advise the players as such. Basically, you want to do whatever possible to avoid retaking due to player encroachment, or to avoid having to explain why a goal is disallowed if the attacker follows up with a subsequent kick. So make sure the players know what's happening.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29865
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.