Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29906

Kicks From The Penalty mark 11/10/2015

RE: AYSO Under 11

Jay Pignatello of MANHATTAN BEACH, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 24324

I ref a lot of games, usually without conflict, but recently had my first KFTM game to decide the winner. LUckily, I had reviewed the rules several times before the game, and everything went smoothly, with one exception:

The visiting team won the toss and elected to kick second. They wanted their goalie to take one of the KFTM, which was fine with me, as she was one of the players on field from the last OT session. However, the way I read the rule, the goalie can only be changed if the goalie is injured and can not continue, which she was not. They elected to pull her out to take a shot, at which point I asked them to select another goalie to substitute in (with the original goalie having left her position and being substituted out to shoot).

Can you please clarify the rule of a goalie returning to goal immediately following their taking a KFTM in the deciding shoot out scenario?

Thank you

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Jay,
Not sure why you thought you required a new keeper? You will know for next time!
You have no authority to ask them to replace a keeper who is simply taking their turn to shoot! He is STILL their keeper nothing has changed! You are lucky the match COULD be protested if you forced a change and that team lost in the shootout.

In KFTPM the two keepers are off to the side of the goal with the 1 AR the rest of their teams are back inside the centre circle with the other AR. The keeper if taking a turn as a shooter, you are informed and they simply do so! You need to do nothing except note the keeper's turn as one of the 11 has occurred and the keeper can not shoot again until all ten others of his team have also had a shot. Once the keeper's shot is over, be it miss or score , the keeper simply walks into the goal to await the next shooter! The opposing keeper returns to the side of the goal with the AR. Unless of course he wants his turn to shoot then he simply goes up to the referee and presents himself as the next shooter.

The keeper is but one of the 11 POSSIBLE shooters. Often in youth, the keeper is one of the strongest all-around players and will participate even within the first 5 of a regular shoot out or even take a regulation PK. If a keeper comes up to take a PK shot in regulation you do not substitute for a new keeper? A keeper is not required in law to STAY in goal only that team have one present on their team on the field.

What can become confusing is lets say the keeper shoots 2nd taking their turn as a one of 11 players. Keeper score, great now they go into goal and the opposing team shoots their 2nd PK, our keeper makes a save and is NOW injured and a replacement keeper comes in off the bench to take their place assuming the substitutions options were not all used up although in youth often unlimited anyways. Given each legal player is entitled to shoot would you permit this substitute to take say the 4th shot as a new keeper knowing the old keeper scored on the 2nd shot?
Cheers




Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi jay
You interpreted incorrectly. The goalkeeper is just another player and in this case there is no requirement to change nor did she leave the field. So the simple decision was to allow the kick.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ULUzhrJ7zGk
In this video the GK in purple takes a kick. Indeed if kicks continued with no misses the two goalkeepers would have to take a kick at some point before a team mate could take a second kick
Now lets put it another way. Say in regular play the goalkeeper wants to take the penalty kick. It would not require the goalkeeper to change with an outfield player. Yes if the team really wanted to ensure that in the case of a miss that it had a goalkeeper in place at its goals that a change could be requested. Most decide not to so the GK is then like an outfield player until she returns to her penalty area.
I suspect you got some strange looks and comments. I suspect the GK *changed back* after the kick



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Any of the 11 players on the field at the end of the match can take a kick. Indeed, the goal keeper must take a kick before anyone can kick a second time.

The limit on 'changing the goal keeper' means having a substitute from the bench replace a goal keeper during the KFTPM. It doesn't limit when the goal keeper can take a kick or one of the other 10 eligible kickers switching places with the keeper. Either can happen at any.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

A goalkeeper can do things during the game, and at Kicks from the Mark, that do not look especially 'keeper-esque'. But no matter - she remains the goalkeeper until she is substituted out of the game and another player dons the Spiderman shirt and enters the game.

Just because the keeper took one of the kicks, that doesn't make her 'not a goalkeeper'.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29906
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.