Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29908

Law 11 - Offside 11/10/2015

RE: Rec Adult

R Bogh of Beaumont, California United States asks...

In an Adult Game a forward takes a long shot on Goal. The Keeper (With no attackers near (20 Yards Away) Takes his fists and intentionally punches the ball. A player in an Offside position (About 20 Yards away) comes up and Plays the Ball. My fellow referee calls offside (Two Man System) Ruling that Attacker had an advantage being in an offside position. I commented that the keeper intentionally played the play with fists instead of catching the ball, Pass from a defender, no Offside.

THoughts

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Offside.

FIFA and IFAB have clarified that a player does not gain an advantage when the ball is received from a deliberate play that is NOT a deliberate save. In this case, however, it was a deliberate save. As a result, the player in offside position is not eligible to play the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi
offside could still in effect due to the fact the ball is being played deliberately as a save. It is possible an argument for a parry where control, possession and release are an ALL in one consideration but I generally reserve those for a weak easily caught ball not one delivered at pace.

I can show you a fisting of the ball that I would NOT lay claim is a save though and as a deliberate play would in fact reset offside for the opposition. Recall the 2014 final where the German keeper came well out to punch a ball on the outer edge of the penalty area . While the controversy of that call still reverberates around discussion channels, the ACT itself clearly shows how a deliberate use of the hands should NOT reset offside as a save but in fact reset offside as a deliberate play.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=14WDjvsxCQk

Now the referee incorrectly awarded free kick TO Germany at the very least this was a throw in to Argentina. Many including myself felt this was a red card DFK for Argentina but the point here is to show the fist punch is deliberate play it is not a save and the excessive knee into the head of the player still leaves me wondering???
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

It depends on whether the goalkeeper's punch can be considered a save. If it was a save, then offside. If not, then it's not offside, it's a gift to the opponents.

Reasonable referees would make a reasonable effort to consider any goalkeeper-like actions to be a save. Punches usually are saves. But there might be cases where the keeper was away from goal, say in the top corner of the penalty area, and the ball was headed more toward the corner flag than the goal. Then the referee could logically decide the play was not a save, but was a deliberate play by the keeper that went wrong (for him).



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
The question the referee or assistant has to ask is whether the punch was a SAVE or not. If it was a save then offside has not been reset and it is offside when the PIOP interferes with play.
Now there will be times when the punch is a deliberate play the same as a kick in which case it is a reset. In those situations the referee has to take into account all the circumstances as to why it was done. Was it a poorly executed deliberate play when other options were available such as letting the ball go or catching the ball. Was it a goalkeeper thinking that his punching skills could deliver the ball a distance which just went wrong or miscalculated.
In this video as this was a save it is offside
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ZzkYdxPhuPA
In this example it is not a save and IMO a deliberate play
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Aa4BwoDTLmM
Referees are left to determine what is a save. UEFA has opined that a save means that a goal must be possible from the shot/play. If the ball is not destined for goal then it is not a save.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29908
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.