Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 29909

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 11/10/2015

RE: competitive

PAUL HERTELENDY of Berkeley, CA USA asks...

A player goes down with an injury. When the ref whistles the stop-play, Team A clearly has possession. When play resumes, the ref feeds the ball to a Team A player for the 'drop ball' in order to resume. Two Q's: 1. Can that player dribble the ball, making repeated contact? 2. If, instead, the player takes a shot and it enters either goal untouched, does it count?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Paul
On question 1 the ball is in play when it touches the ground and as such it can be dribbled away.
On question 2 if the ball is kicked directly into the goal from a dropped ball the goal is not awarded. If it was an attacker that kicked the ball then it is a goal kick.
Now some have asked about the scenario where the ball was first teed up by a touch before the kick that scored. IFAB had planned to amend the law to clarify that directly did not involve another player. It stated that the proposed new text would clarify the interpretation of the word “direct” in the context of any player playing the ball more than once and thereafter scoring a goal without the ball being played by any other player. No decision was made and it was suggested that it would be made clear in a glossary of terms to be published. We are still awaiting that glossary. I would take it that if a player kicks the ball directly into the goal after a touch or so that the referee by disallowing the goal would be implementing the spirit of the law. However after a series of plays such as dribbling or involving other players then that could not be seen as directly.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Paul,
the drop ball restart was recently amended to prevent a direct scoring of a goal given this restart is often utilized as a ...fair play gesture... to kick the ball back to the opposing keeper ! Prior to this law change on certain occasions the restart had gone horribly wrong with the ball accidently finding its way into the back of the net! So ...NOW...if a ball was to be kicked directly and entered the goal, crossing the goal line, under the crossbar and between the posts off a drop ball restart , no goal is awarded, the opposition simply get a goal kick restart.

Now usually a drop ball to a single player inside the PA is a direct drop into a keeper's hand who then punts the ball down field. If it is a single player drop who is returning the ball they generally kick the ball back to the opposing keeper or out into touch for a throw in as a fair play gesture. I have never seen a drop ball restart to a single player who then dribbles the ball the length of the field and then shoots it at the opposing goal ? I have seen on a kick off, after a controversial goal, the opposition allow the player to dribble and score uncontested but he still can not touch it as a 2nd touch A team mate must initiate a first touch.

I currently hold the opinion and believe if after taking the drop ball restart a player dribbled the ball and then shot and scored it is technically a legal goal given it was not directly kicked into goal. This is not like a free kick as a 2nd touch violation . I also believe if a player laid claim to return the ball as fair play protocols often do and then choose this action to then score uncontested, expect things to get ugly REAL fast unless it was done as a favour to perhaps equal a weird goal by the opposition!

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29909
Read other Q & A regarding Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.