Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30014

Mechanics 1/8/2016

RE: All, few professional Adult

Bob of Kansas city, Kansas US asks...

What is your opinion about referees going into the penalty during normal course of fluid play. ( not regarding spend kitty kick).

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Bob,
a referee on occasion could find the correct distance and angle of view required to properly evaluate a situation cause him to venture inside the penalty area during active play. As a general rule we try to stay a bit wide outside the penalty arc using the AR to trap play. Often on corners or set plays we need to be careful given the number of players congregating inside but also we are blocked and require intrusion into the PA to see direct interaction. The angle of ball delivery or angle of players does not always follow a proactive approach of positioning so we must recover and do what is necessary. Same again when an attacker is weaving about with the ball dribbling around defenders inside the opposing PA. We need to see and if players block we need to get around and closer or even farther but at an angle we can CLEARLY see the action.
A referee can be too close or at a bad angle and not see a blatant foul at 3 yards away that a better positioned referee at 20 yds. can easily discern. My good friend and mentor Esse encouraged me to be where you need to be as often as you can!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Bob
There has been much written and debated over the years about referee positioning. Indeed many referee observers differ on positioning. During the last World Cup Massimo Busacca Head of Refereeing Development with FIFA, insisted on a different path of control from the normal style of refereeing. FIFA instructed referees that during the World Cup as soon as players entered the penalty area and moving towards the goalline, mostly in dangerous goal attempts, referees should leave the diagonal movement and use the diagonal channel instead. It was also an instruction for referees to be ahead of play.
Have a look at this video of 10 goals
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=c0cUE-ePDEc
In all the goals the referees are ahead of play yet no once do they get inside the penalty area nor do they need to.
Now look at this video
https://vimeo.com/98176836
Was Referee Nishimura well positioned to see this incident? Many argue that had he been wider and perhaps deeper on the regular diagonal that he would have seen the incident more clearly as side on generally is the best viewing angle.
As soon as play is moving towards the right half of the penalty areas, referees were advised to use the so-called "diagonal channel", i.e. being positioned close to the penalty area's line on the right side, close to the assistant referee which Referee Nisihmura does. This position is similar to the movement UEFA's referees had to adapt during Champions and Europa League matches due to the Additional Assistant Referees' presence left from the goal prior to 2011 when this was changed to the right side of the goal. Referees had complained quite a lot about being forced to change the normal diagonal control path hence the change of AAR positioning.
What it does highlight that there are pluses and minuses in every positioning system. The best system is the one that gives the referee the best angle of view. It is also dependant on the referees speed, fitness and perhaps knowledge of the teams, tactics. One only has to look back at decision that were missed to understand that sometimes it is just not possible to be in the right place at the right time.
BTW have a look at this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ce-RMQy3eK4&t=53m0s
At one time the referee was in the recommended position!!. I have used this in games when on my own and it does work.






Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30014
Read other Q & A regarding Mechanics

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.