Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30057

Law 14 - Penalty kick 1/27/2016

RE: Competitive and Rec Under 14

Uriel Choi of CHANDLER, AZ United States asks...

A penalty kick is being taken. The ball bounces off the cross bar back to the player taking the kick, he then kicks the ball again, into the goal.

Do you...

allow the goal,
restart with a indirect free kick,
restart with a direct free kick,
restart with a drop ball, or
redo the penalty kick?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Uriel
You will know that a player at any restart cannot touch the ball again until it has touched another player which can be a team mate or an opponent. Should he do so it is a technical foul punished by an indirect free kick.
So in this case the ball has not touched anyone else just the frame of the goal so it is also a technical foul punished by an indirect free kick from where the second touch occurred.
As an aside I am of the opinion that in the case of unintentional technical fouls that could not possibly be deliberate that the laws should be changed allow those exceptions. I once had a player from a corner kick play a rebound from the front post. The ball had travelled nearly some 50 yards from and to the corner so it was certainly not deliberate. However it is a technical infringement that must be punished. Interestingly not one player questioned it or remarked that it was a double touch!!

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Uriel ,
The restart is INDFK out in favour of the keeper's team for a 2nd touch violation by the opposing kicker.

a PK (penalty kick) like all free kick restarts has the restriction whereby the kicker can not play the ball after he kicks it until someone else from either team makes contact with the ball.
The ball remained in play on the rebound off the crossbar but the keeper did not touch it. If he had deflected it onto the crossbar THEN the kicker could legally re-kick that ball into the goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30057
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30058

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.