Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30058

Law 13 - Free Kicks 1/28/2016

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30057

Referee McHugh makes an interesting point. Could you ever find a 2nd touch violation trivial?
e.g. Suppose there's a penalty shot which hits the crossbar & bounces back. However, it's a muddy field & the kicker slips. He's flat on his back when the ball deflects off his body.

If it could be considered trivial, would it matter if another attacker then kicked it in for a goal?
Thanks in advance,

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Phil,
personally I do not think so, the 2nd touch violation although it seems like one might be able to overlook, this technical violation is not unlike a ball being just a little bit out of bounds.
More of it is or it is not. Flag up or Flag down. Or offside in that you can be unsure but if it is, flag up!
Your example of a kick/slip or say a throw in that slips and splats in front of him or off his toe.
One might consider an advantage for the opposition more than allow the attack to continue but personally I award the INDFK. Solves everything no messy guessy after effects.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
No that is not possible. However it can be missed by the referee in a slip situation or where it is unseen. I recall a free kick being taken by Joe Hart goalkeeper for a Manchester City and he accidentally kicked it twice. He managed to kick the ball twice with it glancing off one foot to the other. Clearly a double touch.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5WCFBDl9CRM
Now as it happened inside the penalty area advantage could not be played as it is a retake for touching the ball twice inside the penalty are? Had it been outside the penalty area the goal would have counted with advantage being played.
I also recall a player slip on a penalty kick which was shown on TV as a double touch. Ref did not see it due to the speed of the motion and as the ball went wide no mention was made of it.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30058
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.