Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30114

Kicks From The Penalty mark 2/15/2016

RE: Adult Adult

Rbogh of Beaumont, Ca Usa asks...

U16game goes to kicks from the mark

After round four of the kicks one team is ahead 3-2

Referee Mistakenly blows three whistles to end the game. UNder the laws of the game. Is the game over?

(Referee crew allowed the fifth round to continue. Results were the same)

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi
short answer NO!
KFTPM are not part of the match they are required to achieve a result. The match is already over! The referee err has not yet created a protestable situation if he realizes his mistake before the teams are dispersed as no other restart had occurred, if the team had left the area who could say, but the 5 th shot has to occur if there is yet a chance as the result is not yet final according to the LOTG. An astute AR taps his shoulder whispers that is only 4 shots apologies all around resume KFTPM! Results should stand.

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
The game is already over so there is no issue here as the kicks from the penalty mark are not part of the match.
The referee had made an error which was quickly corrected with both teams talking five kicks. So no issue here other than a referee having to apologize for his counting error which plainly should not have happened. As the team are entitled to take five kicks each then that is what should happen and eventually did happen. It may have unsettled the fifth kickers yet plainly it did not. Losing team could have no gripe anyway as they were behind at the 4th kick and the 5th kicks changed nothing. They may even have been happy that there was an unsettling at the 5th kicks!
Im not even sure why the referee is blowing three whistles here in this manner. If he does nothing he sees that there is no winning reaction from the team in the lead and another player is coming forward. Que recheck of his kicks record and then he is the only person that knows he got the count wrong!




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30114
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.