Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30125

Law 14 - Penalty kick 2/19/2016

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30123

As a follow-up to what referee Jason Wright said about a foul on Suarez if he hadn't encroached. Wouldn't that be a PK? It would seem to me to meet all the requirements. Of course, since he did encroach, it couldn't be a foul, since the ball would not be in play (assuming the referee saw the encroachment & intended to call it). But it might be a yellow or red card, depending if the foul was reckless or with excessive force.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Phil,
I reread his answer he stated
'What would be interesting is if Suarez hadn't encroached but was fouled by a defender as he's about to take the shot.
This is DOGSO as much as tactical, reckless or SFP but then a goal off advantage might still occur or if missed a sending off with the new PK or if there was encroachment then a retake of the first PK.
You are correct, if the referee acknowledges Suarez was not entitled to participate then it is misconduct not a foul but still cardable in either colour depending on how! Chances are a double encroachment results in Pk retake or an INDFK out if only Suarez was seen as the encroacher .

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
Every chance that if the encroachment is not seen or called that a foul on Suarez is likely to be a penalty kick and a DOGSO irrespective of the manner of the foul.
If the referee goes with encroachment then the referee should not let it get that far. He should whistle the play dead immediately and restart with an IDFK from where the encroachment took place. He should not be letting it get to the potential for a foul on Suarez that might result in misconduct and then have to restart with an IDFK out.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Phil,
You're correct that it would be a foul and a new PK (as opposed to a retake).
As soon as the ball is kicked and moves forwards, the ball is in play. So if, say, a defender is holding an attacker who is running in to receive a pass like this, that would be a foul, a new PK and most likely a red card for DOGSO.
I say it would be interesting because that would be one of those cases where nobody except the referee would be likely to know what the correct decision is!
If encroachment is called, then the ball was never 'in play', so there can't be a card for DOGSO.

Though if severe enough, the play could still be cautioned/sent off.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30125
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.