Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30190

Law 14 - Penalty kick 3/10/2016

RE: Rec Under 12

Richard Morrison of Duarte , Ca USA asks...

When a player is taking a penalty kick can he stop his forward motion, before kicking the ball, to fake the goalie?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Richard
No that is not possible. The player may feint yet he is not allowed to stop.
This became a particular problem in South America causing IFAB to spell this out clearly in the Laws. It was always understood as being unacceptable to stop yet the law did not actually state it clearly. What was happening was that players were running up. stopping just as they were about to kick, the goalkeeper would dive and the player would then slot the ball uncontested into the other side of the goal. It was called a paradinha. That is now a caution for the kicker and a retake of the penalty kick.
In these example those are now a caution and a retake
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jmEHynpR2vc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=788q49gBGjk
Interestingly that was never allowed in UK and Ireland. It was always a retake for an incorrectly taken kick without the caution. Now a caution is required in Law. It rarely happens however and I have never seen it. The players feint, stutter yet never stop the forward movement and kick



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Richard ,
hard to add anything of value to my colleague's well thought out answer.
Get the kick over with with a minimum of fuss. I like the tap over to a running 2nd player ONLY if there is no encroachment!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30190
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.