Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30200

Kicks From The Penalty mark 3/17/2016

RE: competitive Adult

kenneth ofori-gyadu of Kumasi , Ghana Ghana asks...

In a penalty shoot -out if a kick comes off the post and the ball hits the ground and then hits the goalkeeper and enters the net, is it a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Kenneth
Most certainly YES and this has been asked many times. It is a GOAL
To look at the reason why it is a goal we have to look at the history here. In 1986 a French player did just this in a penalty shoot out in a World a Cup game between Brazil and France, The ball hit the crossbar and the ball came back out and hit the Brazilian goalkeeper and went into the goal. The Referee correctly allowed the goal to count and France went on to win 4-3 on penalties.
There was a lot of controversy about the French penalty kick at the time due to an ambiguity in the laws on when a penalty was completed. The Scottish Football Association sought clarification, and the current wording has its origins in that law change. It was agreed at the time that the referee made the correct decision to allow the goal and the wording was changed to reflect that. In the great rewrite of the Laws in 97/98 all that detail was removed and the current wording is

* When a penalty kick is taken during the normal course of play, or time has been extended at half-time or full time to allow a penalty kick to be taken or retaken, a goal is awarded if, before passing between the goalposts and under the crossbar:
# the ball touches either or both of the goalposts and/or the crossbar and/or the goalkeeper
The referee decides when a penalty kick has been completed*

So in your example a goal is awarded as the ball on its own momentum from the original kick crossed over the goal line after hitting the frame of the goal and/or the goalkeeper. We also know that Law 14 applies to Kicks from the Penalty Mark so there is no difference in penalty shoot outs to use your term.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30200
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30279

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.