Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30202

Law 14 - Penalty kick 3/18/2016

RE: Competitive High School

Russ Carl of Sterling Heights, Michigan United States asks...

At the end of a half, a penalty kick is awarded to the green team because the red defender recklessly tackled him/her in his own penalty area. Even though time has expired the referee allows the penalty kick to take place (this is within the LOTG). Upon taking the kick the ball bounds off the keeper and directly back to the kicker. Is the kicker, then, allowed to take another shot while the keeper is on the ground, say, or is time expired at the taking of the first kick? I think, as only the keeper and shooter are involved - and no other player - this is allowed, and if so, what if the shooter decides to dribble the ball 3 yards to his right before taking the shot (allowed then?) And finally, what if a teammate of the keeper's decides he's had enough with this and grabs the ball with his hands (in his own penalty area) and throws the ball out of play to stop the half? Is a new penalty kick awarded? Red card? Yellow card?

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Russ,

The answer to all of your scenarios is found in Rule 14-1-6 on page 65 of the NEHS Rules book: It states: If a penalty kick is taken after the expiration of time; (a)Only the kicker may play the ball and he/she may only play the ball once; (b) the ball is in play until its momentum is spent, it goes out of bounds, or is retouched by the kicker. Thus, in the situation that you describe above, as soon as the kicker touches the ball for the second time, the ball would be dead and the half would be completed. By the way, the same rule is in effect for the kicks from the penalty mark that are used to determine a winner when games are tied. I hope that you will have a successful spring season.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russ
The answer is the same in both NFHS and FIFA games. If time has been extended to allow a penalty kick to be taken then no further play by any player including the kicker is allowed. The referee makes a decision based on the outcome of the momentum from the kick. If the ball is subsequently touched by any outfield player other then the goalkeeper the game is over. It is one kick with no possibility of any follow up play such as a rebound by the kicker. It is akin to the way a penalty kick is taken in Kicks from the Penalty Mark. No follow up play is allowed.
Now all that has to be managed carefully through good mechanics. Players should be informed that there is no point in follow up as per a regular penalty kick plus once the ball rebounds back with no hope of it going into the goal off say the goalkeeper then play should be whistled dead. If the ball say hits the frame of the goal and then hits the goalkeeper entering the goal then a goal is awarded.
In respect of your last point the question does not arise as when a defending player grabs the ball the game has already ended.
Now the one caveat in a FIFA game is that the timing may not be as exact as NFHS with perhaps the referee allowing time for subsequent follow up play. That though is a timing issue rather the rule about time being extended to allow for a single penalty kick.
I hope that helps



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30202
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30592

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.