Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30213

Law 15 - Throw In 3/23/2016

RE: Competitie Adult

Fred Gerritsen of Utrecht, Utrecht Netherlands asks...

Throw In. Is it allowed to throw in on your Knees. Both feet are touching the ground.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Fred,

There are a number of things that aren't specifically mentioned in the laws because convention or natural understanding (spirit of the law) should be sufficient.

You're right that the feet may technically be touching the ground, but the intent of the law is clearly that the player is 'on' his feet, rather than they have incidental contact with the ground, so I would consider this an incorrectly taken throw.

Though preemptive refereeing is always golden - if you can see this occurring, try to stop the throw before he takes it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Fred
Not possible. This is where tacit knowledge of the game comes in rather than the explicit words of what is written. That knowledge informs us that the throw in is made from a standing position. Indeed if we read Law 15 we need that tacit knowledge to determine if the TI is correctly taken or not on other aspects. If a player is on his knees taking a throw in it is incorrectly taken. It will attract howls of protest anyway so it is a simple decision. I would go as far as to say that I would not allow a squatting position either. Put it this way. If both happened in a game and the referee called them as incorrectly taken TIs he would be seen to be correct. It would not happen again in the game.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee MrRef

Hello Fred,
This is not permitted! The throw in is not to be performed sitting or kneeling. The new type of throw in the flip throw or somersault throw has created a squatting position that for the most part is recognized as ok! Stick to a more traditional stand and deliver throw for less techy ref scrutiny.

from our pitch to your pitch in the spirit of fair play



Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef

View Referee MrRef profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30213
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30218

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.