Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30228

Law 14 - Penalty kick 3/30/2016

RE: B Award Under 17

Mr G J Squire of Exeter, Devon UK asks...

A penalty has been awarded, the player steps up a take his shot in the correct manner.
The ball from the initial shot hits the base of the goal post without any goal keeper involvement and returns to the penalty taker who then shoots again and scores.

Is it a goal?

Answer provided by Referee MrRef

Hello Mr. Squire,

NO goal!

The defending team is awarded an INDFK out from the point of the 2nd touch by the PK kicker!

If the keeper had made ANY contact with the ball at all, as in tipping it to the corner of the post , if this was a free play PK, then the PK kicker could have participated. Another player from either team MUST make ball contact before a PK kicker can replay the ball. If this was an extended pk or KFTPM then no one except the keeper has any chance to play the ball.

from our pitch to your pitch in the spirit of fair play



Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef

View Referee MrRef profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
No this is not a goal. The kicker has played the ball for a second time without it touching another player. That is a technical double touch infringement and the restart is an IDFK from where the second touch took place.
Personally I dont like it as a Law yet that is the way it is. A player cannot play the ball twice at any restart without it being played / touched by another player. The reason I do not like it is that it is never intentional and a player would struggle to do it if he tried. I once had a player kick a corner kick and it rebounded from the front post back to the kicker who played it for a second time. It was a natural reaction to play the ball again. The opponents did not pick it up yet it was a double touch with an IDFK restart.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

As the kicker has touched the ball a second time before any other player has touched it, there's no goal and it is an IFK to the defending team from where the kicker touched it.
If, however, the keeper got a fingertip on it, then it's a good goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30228
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.