Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30231

Mechanics 3/31/2016

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30230

Suppose we change the facts. I recall a pro game where the GK took a flying leap at the attacker, cleats showing & basically kicking the attacker in the chest & knocking him to the ground (can't remember which match). Before the referee could intervene, another attacker decked the GK, knocking him unconscious. Both were red carded.

Suppose the first attacker was able to duck so that the GK missed him, & quickly scored a goal...the referee allowing advantage. After the goal is scored, could the referee still have red carded the GK? If so, would it be for serious foul play or for violent conduct?

Thanks again for this terrific site.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Yes, a player can be cautioned or sent off following advantage. Refs are warned to not apply advantage too often when there is a send-off - use it only in a situation where a goal is imminent. Otherwise it's too much of a risk that a player who should be off the field is still there and might be able to affect play. The most egregious example being that the play turns around and the perpetrator manages to run down the field and score a goal.

As for the goalkeeper's flying leap into an opponent, I fail to see how that is making a play for the ball. Normal playing actions that go bad are SFP. Abnormal actions not part of play are VC.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
The advice is to only play advantage on a dismissal when a goal opportunity is immediately imminent so in your example the referee could play advantage, award the goal and then dismiss the player. Those situations are always very rare and if a player is going to be dismissed then it is best done quickly that is within a second or two. Otherwise it open up the possible vista of retaliation plus the possibility that the offender can affect the game further. There is also the opinion that if play is allowed to continue that the offence may have been interpreted as not being serious enough to warrant a sending off or that it is an afterthought by the referee perhaps influenced by opponents or others.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30231
Read other Q & A regarding Mechanics

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.