Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30235

Law 16 - Goal Kick 4/3/2016

RE: Competitive Under 15

Vicki Hayward of Nottingham , UK asks...

If a goal keeper takes a goal kick, off the floor, but it doesn't leave the area before one of her own players touches it, what does the ref award? Our ref took it to be similar to a throw in that doesn't go into play and let the keeper take the goal kick again.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Vicki,
Good on the referee for the retake as the correct procedure but the throw in analogy does not truly fit!

The ball, on ANY defending free kick be it a goal kick a DFK or INDFK must COMPLETELY leave the penalty area into the FOP to be declared in play! A the ball has NOT left the ONLY recourse under the LOTG is a retake.

On a throw in IF the ball is CORRECTLY taken and that ball did not enter the FOP a retake under FIFA LOTG could occur but if the throw in was incorrectly taken THAT would not matter and the ball turned over to the opposing team! On a Goal kick it will always be a retake with a faint possibility of cautions if the reasoning the ball does not leave was of a tactical or time delaying measure rather than a miss kick or weather conditions.

In USA high-school I believe the throw in goes to the other team regardless as the thinking is it is a simple restart just get it right or let the other guys do it!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The ball must leave the penalty area before it is in play. If it is touched before that, it was never in play so the restart must be (re)taken.

If it appears that the ball was touched too early to force the the retake, the ref might consider if it was deliberately wasting time. That would be liable for a caution. But those would be rare circumstances. A simple mistake of getting the ball too soon is not a caution. Doing it again and again - um, that looks like a strategy, let's stop it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Vicki
The referee was correct here. If the ball is touched inside the penalty area by any player it is a retake. That also applies to free kicks taken inside the penalty area by the defending team.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30235
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.