Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30242

Law 14 - Penalty kick 4/4/2016

RE: College

pc singh of guwahati, assam india asks...

can a penalty taker touch and score goal from ball rebound from goal post without touching any player

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi PC Singh,
On a PK, the kicker can never score a goal off a 2nd touch bound UNLESS one of the other 21 players have first contacted the ball. Usually this is the opposing keeper who deflects the ball back to the PK kicker either as a rebound or a series of redirects off the post, crossbar or himself!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

No that is not possible.
The ball needs to touch another player which can include the goalkeeper for the kicker to be able to play the ball again for a second time. Should he touch the ball off a rebound from the frame of the goal it is an offence punished by an IDFK from where the double touch happened.
It might seem harsh as it is not deliberate yet the Laws quite clearly state that the player may only touch the ball again on any restart after it has been touched / player by another player which can include an opponent.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30242
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.