Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30244

Law 14 - Penalty kick 4/5/2016

RE: Under 14

scott of glasgow, scotland asks...

during a penalty shootout, the ball passes through a hole in the net. what is the ruling. and should the referee check the net whilst there are still penalty to be taken

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Scott,
the CR and AR are supposed to check the nets PRIOR to the match starting.
If in the opinion of the CR or AR they determine the ball had in fact completely crossed OVER the goal line UNDER the crossbar and BETWEEN the posts the fact the ball exited through a hole is not relevant it is is a GOAL! This would be the same if the ball was in normal play or a PK . The hole should immediately be fixed!

Although it would be unlikely for a PK given the position of the shot, in normal play where as a ball shot at the netted area was to find its way into the goal there could be reason not to award the goal depending on HOW it was determined the ball entered say through the side netting near the post!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Scott
The net is to assist the referee crew to make the correct decision. Just because the ball passes through a hole in the net does not negate the goal. Correct decision is to award the goal and repair the hole before the next kick. A much more difficult decision is when it is not known if the ball entered the goal or not when suspected that it went through the net.
Advice to referees is to check the nets thoroughly before kick off and after half time.
Here is the opposite situation
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=d8LDD9AJcmI
The correct decision was a goal kick and the net clearly did not assist the officials to arrive at the correct decision.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30244
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.