Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30289

Law 14 - Penalty kick 4/14/2016

RE: Adult

Otto of Los Angeles, CA USA asks...

In a penalty kick situation - for example, if an offensive player is inside the penalty box and is grabbed / pushed by a defender while driving to the goal or shooting - if a penalty kick is awarded, does the player who was pushed have to be the player who takes the PK, or can a substitute player take the PK? What are the circumstances under which a PK can be taken by a substitute player, other than the player who was shooting or inside the penalty box?


Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Otto,

Any player on the field can take the penalty kick. If the team has valid substitutes, then they can bring on a substitute to take the kick.
Similarly, the defending team are allowed to change keepers.
Also, if the kick is retaken, the retaken kick can be by a different player.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Otto
Any player on the field of play can take a penalty kick. As it is a stoppage in play a team can make a substitution. As long as the substitution process is allowed and completed correctly the substitute can take any restart including taking a penalty kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa


Any player who is on the field can take the kick in this situation. If for some reason the kick must be retaken, then any other player may take it as well.

Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30289
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.