Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30341

Law 11 - Offside 4/25/2016

RE: Club Under 15

Rich of Locks, CT US asks...

A player is in an extremely offside position (let say rubbing a cramp near his offensive 18) when a teammate goes to play the ball near mid field and it goes out off a defender for a throw in. The player picks up the ball and throws it immediately to the player down field creating a 1v1 with the keeper. Is the player on sides as play was restarted with a throw-in?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Rich
Yes most certainly onside. The throw in is a new phase of play so the player cannot be offside from a throw in, goal kick or a corner kick.
Obviously a player in an offside position cannot participate in open play and he has to wait to be put onside by either the ball going out of play, the opponents gain complete control of the ball without interference from the player in an offside position or a team mate in an onside position commences another phase of play.
So being in an offside position is not an offence and the player is of no benefit to his team in that position. However on a TI the defending team then has a problem having left the player totally unmarked. That is the defending teams choice and now challenged to deal with it. In your example it is play on as there is no possible offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Rich,
A player cannot be penalised for offside if he receives the ball directly from the throw in. So, in this case, he would only be penalised if the throw-in touches a teammate before it goes to him (And he is still in an offside position at that moment).



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30341
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30357

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.