Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30354

Kicks From The Penalty mark 4/27/2016

RE: Competitive Under 15

Randy A. Pew of Fairfield, Idaho Camas asks...

Keep in mind this is not a penalty kick situation, but rather the method to decide the match winner.

Recently, during a youth tournament, semi-final match, which ended in a tie, the rules stated all semi-final and final matches ending in a tie went directly to KFTM.
The CR of the match asked another ref a 'what if' question as described herein.
With all players and officials properly positioned, the player taking the kick does so proficiently. The ball rebounds off the GK back into the field of play in the kicker's vicinity.

The question is does the kicker have the opportunity to take another touch on the ball in order to hopefully drive the ball past the GK into the net, or is the kicker only allowed one touch on the ball from the Mark no matter what the outcome is?

Thanks very much.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Randy
In Kicks from the Penalty Mark the kicker can only kick the ball once. If he touches the ball on a rebound the kick is over and no goal is recorded.
The goalkeeper however in his attempt to stop the ball can touch it a number of times such as a push onto the post and subsequent touch of a rebound, the same as on any other save.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Randy,
on KFTPM to decide an outcome after the match is over. the Pk kicker has only ONE chance to kick the ball off the spot, he CAN NOT play the ball a second time! The ball's momentum is imparted by the initial PK kick and any subsequent rebounding off posts, crossbar or keeper is permitted to allow the ball to remain live to see if to COULD enter the goal under the crossbar between the posts completely crossing the goal line before the ball no longer has any energy left to continue its journey, goes out of play or the keeper gains complete control/possession of the ball.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa


In KFTPM, the kicker gets only one opportunity to strike the ball. Once he does, the kick is 'over' when the ball either:

1) Enters the net
2) Touches the kicker again
3) Misses the goal completely
4) The energy of the ball is spent

Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30354
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.