Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30357

Law 11 - Offside 4/27/2016

RE: Youth to adult, comp and rec.

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30341

Similarly, if the player had been 30 yards offside when a deflected pass came toward himŽ he could let it go out of bounds and immediately take the throw-in or corner kick.


Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Barry
Yes no offence here. It is one of the ways that a player in an offside position can become onside again. The three ways are
1. The ball goes out of play,
2 The opponents gain complete control of the ball without interference from the player in an offside position
3. A team mate in an onside position commences another phase of play.
In a game situation the player in an offside position would be best to show no interest in the ball to prevent an eager AR from flagging the lone PIOP moving towards the ball before it goes out of play. As soon as the other AR flags for ball out of play no offside can then be called so the quick restart by the player previously in an offside position is entirely legal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Barry,
he could in theory run to the touchline step out side to show non involvement then stop the ball and take the restart. The AR or CR would have to be of the opinion he did nothing to interfere with an opponent or at any time played the ball. Waiting to seize a quick restart from a restricted position might seem iffy but under the LOTG I see no infringement.


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30357
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30362

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.