Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30401

Law 16 - Goal Kick 5/10/2016

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

As our new season is starting, I wanted to make sure I understood something.

Goal kick taken by GK:
1. It does not leave the penalty area. Regardless of whether the it goes into the goal, over the goal line outside the goal (but inside the penalty area), or touched by the kicker or anyone else, it's a retake. i.e. any time the ball doesn't leave the penalty area on a goal kick, it's a retake.

2. It leaves the penalty area, but is blown back by the wind (or spin).
A. If it directly enters the team's own goal, it's a corner kick for the opposing team.
B. If it is first touched by any player, other than the original kicker, and then enters the goal, it's a goal.
C. If it's stopped by the original kicker, it's an INDFK for the opposing team.
D. If it is first touched by the original kicker, you can play advantage if it is heading toward the goal. If no advantage is realized, it's an INDFK for the opponents at the spot of the double touch (or on the goal area line, if the infringement was inside the goal area).

Thank you,

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil

1. Yes it is a retake.
2. All your assumptions are correct.
Interesting that IFAB has spelt it out more clearly in the new Laws



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Correct Phil. But if the wind is strong enough to blow the ball back into the net, maybe you should be considering calling off the game for weather.

Notes:
It doesn't matter if it's the goalkeeper or any other player who takes the kick, the result is the same.
It doesn't matter if it's a goal kick or any other kind of free kick taken inside the penalty area, the result is the same.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30401
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.