Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30402

Law 14 - Penalty kick 5/10/2016

RE: high school High School

Corey of nashville, TN usa asks...

Player A takes penalty kick and goalie saves it. AR says goalie was over line and rekick. Team sends Player B to take rekick instead of player A. Player B makes kick. Can you switch players for a rekick?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Corey,

You can certainly change kickers between retakes - you could even change the goalkeeper!
The team could even bring on a substitute (if they have a valid substitution remaining) to take the kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Corey
The retake is deemed to be a new kick so any player can take that kick. Retakes on GK encroachment are rare as roughly nine out of ten penalties are scored. It is rare for a change of taker on a retake which probably is the reason for your question as one just does not see it very often. I once had a retake situation in a game I was playing in and it never entered my head that I would not take the retake.
There can be other reasons for a change of taker such as a serious injury. Indeed as Referee Wright states that should the GK need to be changed say for an injury on the first save would it be fair to not allow change? The answer is that any change is allowed.
The only change of kicker that is NOT allowed is where a player other than the identified kicker runs up and takes the kick. No goal can be scored in that situation and it is an IDFK from where the illegal kicker entered the penalty area, the location of the encroachment.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa

Corey,

The retake is treated as a completely different kick. There is no requirement that the same players must be involved.



Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30402
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.