Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30417

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 5/16/2016

RE: Under 11

Steve hazeldine of Manchester, Lancashire United kingdom asks...

A player takes a corner kick which is swinging inwards but not on target to go in the goal.the goalkeeper tries to clear the ball but punches it into his own net.is this classed as an own goal by the goalkeeper?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Steve
It reads like it is an own goal. The definition of an own goal is that if the ball was not destined for the goal and the actions of the player causes the ball to enter the goal then that is an OG.
This is to quote the goal allocation panel in the UK which would be considered the same worldwide
*If the initial attempt is goalbound it is credited to the player making the goal attempt, however if the deflection means that a wayward effort results in a goal then it is attributed to the player who had the last definitive touch of the ball. *
Now who scores is of no concern to the referee. It only applies to leading scorer awards or in betting or fantasy football.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa

Steve,

By your description, this would be an own goal as the ball was not headed into the goal on its own power. Unlucky for the keeper.



Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30417
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.